I’m a Twitter dropout

Well, despite my many a’ blog extolling the virtues of Twitter, I have ceased to Twit (or I am one, as the case may be). Life got in the way. Which is, in essence, what Twitter is supposed to be about — everyday folks telling other folks about their everyday life. But I just lost touch with it. Which leads me to the bigger issue…

Why?

I still use Facebook. And lord knows people still flock to MySpace. But Twitter just didn’t seem to stick for me. And I hear this from many of my friends and family about all other sorts of technology — “I tried it but it just didn’t do it for me”. And I say to them…I argue with them, often heatedly, about how much better my life is with those things in it. And they say “But I just don’t have time”. So I say “But you’ll save time, you’ll see. It gets you so much more…blah blah blah”. But the irony is present and it really stings now.

Because here I am, post-twitter advocate, saying the same thing about Twitter. I feel like a hypocrite. But in my defense, I love technology tools. I love to play with them and see what they can do for me. I try my best to find a purpose for them. But with Twitter, I sound like the quips and quibbles of the folks I try to convince.

It just didn’t do it for me.

Maybe someday it will. Until then, email me. Find me on Facebook. Pick up the dang phone and give me a call. I’ll be there. Just don’t send me a tweet. Not now. Maybe my brain needs to evolve. Maybe I need to experience a greater paradigm shift. But until then…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

