My own Seldon crisis

Fans of Issac Asimov (and pseudo-psychohistorians), have you ever had your own personal Seldon crisis? A moment when all choices of the past have narrowed you to a course of action in the present that gives you no freedom to breath? Where all present choices, save one, lay before you and you stand teetering on the edge, wondering if your decisions will carry you successfully and headlong into the future (or plummeting and cascading less-than-gracefully towards something bleak and

I’d describe my own Seldon crises to you, but the details are irrelevant. Or, rather, only relevant in the context of my own life. But the questions the generate, I feel, are universal. What are your personal Seldon crises? How many will I have in my life? What if I screw them up? Will I be damned to a figurative 30K years of darkness and chaos? Or can I thwart that, reduce it to a mere 1,000 years (figuratively speaking, of course), and be on my merry little way? Or, better yet, do my choices now impact the future of this world — this society — for years to come? Is that time frame of 30k years figurative, or literal after all?

There’s no 3-D hologram of Harry Seldon appearing in a vault somewhere in my life. Just vague clues and gut feeling, which, to the best of my knowledge, are working pretty well so far. How about you? Ever had your own Seldon crisis? Or is yours just waiting to reveal itself to you? You’ll know it when it comes.

For those of you wondering just what the heck I’m talking about, take the time to read a wonderfully sculpted mind-bending piece of literature: Foundation, by Issac Asimov. You don’t even need to buy it – a local library is sure to have it. You’ll be glad you did.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My own Seldon crisis

  1. Pingback: Why I don’t blog more (but really, really should) | TJ Kopcha's Weblog

Leave a Reply

